Mankameshwar Mandir Agra – The Temple You Will Never Forget

My friends tell me that I am full of life and I really know how to enjoy my life to its fullest. Well! I do agree with them on this. But I am as much a spiritual person as I am adventurous in other aspects of life. And my visit to Mankamesshwar Mandir Agra will really tell you how spiritual I am.

Mankameshwar Mandir of Agra took me to Dwaapar era, the era related to the birth of Krishna in Mathura, as it is said to be founded by Lord Shiva Himself during the Dwaapar Yug. It is believed that Lord Shiva was eager to have darshan of newly born Krishna so decided to visit here from Kailash. For night He rested here which was then a cremated ground with Yamuna River flowing close by. He promised Himself that if Krishna gives Him Darshan and also grants Shiva’s wish of sitting on His lap then He would establish a Shiva Linga or a shivling here. Thus when His wish was granted by Krishna He established the famous Mankameshwar Shivling. Lord Shiva was very pleased by Krishna’s Darshan and made a promise that any person who visits this temple and worship the shivling here his all wishes will be fulfilled by Lord Himself and hence the temple got famous with the name of Mankameshwar Mandir.

Mankameshwar Mandir Agra

Mankameshwar Mandir Agra | Image Resource : industrialtour.com/

The main sanctum of the temple consists of Lord Shiva Himself in the form of Shivling covered fully with silver metal. Here Shiva was residing with other family members too like Ganesha, Maa Parvati, Kartikeya, Kirtimukh, Nandi Gadd, Maa Annapurna, Maa Gaura and Ardhnarishwar surrounding the Shivling. One is not supposed to carry leather items here and wear typical western outfits. I prayed with full devotion and somewhere in me i knew that the wish I made will soon get fulfilled and i will soon revisit the temple. Smiling I came out to taste the very famous paan smeared with chandi varak available outside temple premises. I thanked my stars to take me to Mankameshwar Mandir Agra which was the turning point in my life as I received full blessings of Lord Shiva and of other deities.

Leave a Reply

