Kurukshetra, Haryana – A Blissful Historic Town

Kurukshetra, Haryana

Kurukshetra, Haryana | Image Resource : alltouristattractions.org/category/india/haryana-tourist-attractions/

The days of my stay in the northern India had been splendid. I and my friends had enjoyed thoroughly, the serenity, the food, places, culture, practices, adventures, hills and pubs of the state to the core of heart. As I had finally reached at the last day of my stay in Chandigarh, Haryana, I was starting to get nostalgia. However I had studies to take care of back home at Surat and with this though I became happy that at least within tight schedules, I was able to make out this long vacation with my friends. In the last day of my stay in Haryana, I decided to visit the Kurukshetra. The previous day spent at the Rock Garden was splendid indeed as the innovativeness and creativity of the human brain was really worth applauds.

Kurukshetra is located in the North eastern part of the state of Haryana. The total area covered by the place is about 1,70,000 hectares and the population is also ample. The place has much religious importance and its history dates back to long centuries. The Hindu mythological stories had traces of mentions about this place. The Arnai temple, Kurukshetra tank and the Baan Ganga are few of the major lookout destinations for the people visiting Kurukshetra.

Visiting a historic and religious place was truly not my kind. But one of my friends insisted me to go there and check for everything myself so that I may get interested in all these things. And special thanks to the friend as today because of him I could visit one of the finest places of Haryana.

The mentions about Kurukshetra are found in the epic Mahabharata where a major battle was fought. Kauravas and Pandavas resided here long ago. Thaneshwar and Staneshwar were two different places near the town of Kurukshetra. While Statenshwar means the place of God, the temple here is dedicated to Lord Shiva. The temple found here is one of the oldest temples of the country.

Several other places of interest near and around Kurukhetra are Jyotisar, Brahma Sarovar, and Brahma Kund etc. All of these places have religious importance and are known for holding the history of ancient India.

Leave a Reply

