My First Visit to Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi

I started my journey in Delhi by visiting the Humayun’s tomb, which is one of the most favourite tourist destinations in the place. The tomb was made after the famous Mughal Emperor named Humayun. The tomb was specially made under the instruction of Bega Begum, also known as Haji Begum, who was the first wife of Humayun and the task of construction was completed in the year 1569. The massive structure was designed by an architect from Persia named Mirak Mirza Ghiyas. The tomb was also famous because it was the very first tomb-garden in India. It was located in the eastern part of Delhi.The tomb was near to the Old Fort, which had been built by Humayun in the year 1533. The structure was famous for many reasons and such a massive Redstone structure was quite unique in those days. I came to know that the Tomb had been declared as a world heritage site since 1993 by UNESCO.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ever since the declaration, there was major revamping done, and it had given a completely different look to the place. A large number of foreign travellers visited the tomb that day and I noticed that they were enjoying being there. There were several monuments that were made in the entrance and it showed the interest that the Mughals had in such massive and innovative structures at that time. The entire structure also encompassed several other tombs of Bega Begum, Hamida Begum, Dara Shikoh and various other Muhgals such as Jahandar Shah, Rafi Ud-Daulat and Alamgir II.

The place was covered with several gardens and maintained quite well by the officials. The Humayun’s tomb, Delhi was a nice place to visit with complete silence prevailing in the place. The charbagh garden was also quite famous and showed the Mughal architecture and their way of life. I enjoyed every moment of my stay in the Tomb and I am sure I will cherish those moments for many years. I wish I could stay for a few more minutes, but I was on a trip and had to move on due to the time limit. My next destination was also a famous place and was quite recognizable amongst all; it was the Qutub Minar.

Leave a Reply

