Make Your Wish Come True At Ajmer Sharif Dargah

When I had made plans to go to Ajmer, some friends at the college had suggested that I visit Ajmer Sharif Dargah and make a wish there, and it is sure to come true. So I looked forward to visiting the place. I went to visit the place on the third day of my stay at Ajmer. It is the shrine of the Sufi saint Hazrat Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti, who was respected by all people, irrespective of caste. The dargah was at the foot of the hill and was only at a distance of 1.2 km from the hotel. I took a cab in the morning to go to the Dargah.

Ajmer Sharif Dargah

Ajmer Sharif Dargah | Image Resource : arzoo.com/indian-holidays/pilgrimage/dargah-sharif/739.html

I reached the Dargah soon and had my shoes kept at a small shop at the main gate because we were not allowed to get inside with foot wares. After reaching there I found that people wearing shots are also not allowed to get inside. However, there was the facility to borrow lungis from the main gate at no charges. So I borrowed one and entered the dargah through the Nizam Gate, which was the main gate to the shrine. There was a second gate called Shahjahani Gate, erected by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan, and a third gate called Buland Darwaza.

Ajmer Sharif Dargah

Ajmer Sharif Dargah | Image Resource : flickr.com/photos/khwajagaribnawaz/6815157518

Nizam Gate Ajmer Sharif Dargah

Nizam Gate Ajmer Sharif Dargah | Image Resource : aboutomkaar.com/2013/01/ajmer-dargah-sharif.html

I saw inside that not only Muslims, but people from all religions stood together to offer their prayers. The khadim who accompanied me was a good person and helped me to buy incense sticks, flowers and chaddar as offerings, and perform the rituals. He also did the prayers for me. He told me not to give donations anywhere except at the ‘Deg’. I prayed at the tomb of the saint and made my wish. It is said that any wish you make here never goes unanswered.

Although many people visited Ajmer Sharif Dargah, it was not very crowded. The gates of the shrine open at 5 am in the morning and remain open till 9 pm in winters and till 10 pm in summer seasons. Other than the mausoleum that held the tomb of the saint, there were many other tombs, courtyards and other attractive buildings in the Dargah.

Leave a Reply

