Taragarh Fort Ajmer Leaves You Spellbound

After coming back from the visit to the Ana Sagar Lake, I had my lunch at the hotel restaurant. The lunch provided was superb and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Then at about 3.30 I got out of the hotel to visit Taragarh Fort Ajmer. I had the cab arranged at the travel desk and the cab arrived at sharp 3.30 pm. the fort was at a distance of 9.7 km from the hotel. Built in 1354, on top of Nagpahari Hill, it is a colossal structure that leaves you spellbound. It is open to the public from 8.00 am to 6.30 pm and you need not pay any entry fee.

Taragarh Fort Ajmer

Taragarh Fort Ajmer | Image Resource : flickr.com/photos/62936871@N05/6358283443

From the base of the hill you have two options to reach the fort. One is to hire a vehicle by paying INR 500 and the other option is to hike the mountain. Trekking being one of my favorite hobbies, I chose the second option and started trekking uphill. There was a pathway leading to the top and I followed it with a few others like me.

Panoramic View Of The Ajmer City From Fort

Panoramic View Of The Ajmer City From Fort | Image Resource : flickr.com/photos/chrismartin76/4513648928

I really enjoyed my ascend and saw that there were many sheds on the way that sold various eatables, cool drinks and water and allowed you to take rest after walking in the hot sun. I enjoyed the songs played by the CD sellers. It made me more energetic. As I ascended further, I could see the city of Ajmer beneath and it looked very beautiful. Finally I reached the top and was awe struck by the panoramic view of the city of Ajmer beneath.

Lakshmi Pol, Gagudi Ki Phatak At Taragarh Fort Ajmer

Lakshmi Pol, Gagudi Ki Phatak At Taragarh Fort Ajmer | Image Resource : 10yearitch.com/india-travel-tour/rajasthan/taragarh-fort-tara-garh-bundi/

Miran Saheb Ki Dargah Taragarh Fort

Miran Saheb Ki Dargah Taragarh Fort | Image Resource : flickr.com/photos/chrismartin76/4513650188

The fort had a high wall and three very impressive gateways called Lakshmi Pol, Phuta Darwaza and Gagudi ki Phatak, which have great architectural beauty. There were large stone reservoirs that supplied water to the people in the past. Within the fort there was a small palace called Rani Mahal, which was built for the wives of the king. There is also the tomb of the governor of Chauhans, who died fighting the enemies. This tomb called Miran Saheb Ki Dargah is visited by a number of tourists and devotees. I turned back to the base of the hill, taking with me fond memories of the visit.

Leave a Reply

